Memorial Park Middle School - Student Awards

2018-2019 Student Awards

Student Writers

2018-2019 Scary Story Winners

8th grade: 1st-Marlena Ames, 2nd- Nation White, 3rd- Annaliese Tester

7th grade: 1st- Vincent Hood, 2nd- Kate Moor, 3rd- Marcello Cano

6th: Samara Paige, 2nd- Elizabeth Elzey, 3rd- Lily Ryan

2018-2019 ACPL Poetry Contest Winners

7th Grade- 1st- Jeanelly Hernandez (Culture in my Blood)

6th Grade- 1st- Jamiah Martin (Food), 2nd- Promyse Williams (The Window to Your Soul)

Student Athletes

The 2018-2019 boys’ cross country team finished forth in the city. The girls’ cross country team finished third. 100% of both teams hit a person record at the City Meet.

The 2018-2019 Boys Basketball City Champions.

Academic Teams

The spell bowl placed 2nd overall in Regionals. 

The Science and Social Studies Academic Teams both placed 3rd in state. 

Student Musicians

Five of our 8th grade students competed with the North Side Legends Marching Band in the ISSMA State Competition with a 6th place finish: Garret Jauregui, Jackson Prescott, Niza Mancia, Keegan Headlee, and Alejandra Perez.

Daniel Gutierrez, also an 8th grader, competed with the Northrop Marching Band in the Scholastic Class A State Championship, ranking 7th overall. 

All-State Jazz Ensemble

8th grade trumpet player, Isabelle Miller, was awarded a spot as lead trumpet player in the 2019 Indiana Jazz Educators Association Junior All State Jazz Ensemble.

Bloomington Jazz Festival Achievements

Outstanding Musician Award- Isabelle Miller, Qwenton Roach, Tala Rot, and Liam Cambell-Carpenter

Solo Awards- Isabelle Miller, Nadia Paniagua, Jaclyn Embry, Nigel McFarren, Keegan Headlee, Jackson Prescott, Noah Ehrman, Qwenton Roach, Corey Stirratt, Cubie Aye, Lucas Wilson, Bincent Hood, Karis Moss, and Elizabeth Aylward. 

Carl Nicholas Jazz Invitational

The 7th Grade Combo, 8th grade Combo, Any Day Jazz Ensemble, and Big Noise Jazz Ensemble all received high marks. Isabelle Miller and Karis Moss were recognized with solo awards for their outstanding performance. 

North Side Jazz Festival

Any Day Jazz and Big Noise Jazz won "Best Middle School Band" awards. 

Liam Campbell-Carpenter, Keegan Headlee, Nigel McFarren, Hunter Ngo, Niza Mancia, Jackson Prescott, Isabelle Miller, and Qwenton Roach all received solo awards for their outstanding performances. 

78th Edition Show Choir

2018-2019 Placings- Grand Champions at East Noble Invitational and Norwell Invitational, two 3rd runner-ups ,4th runner-up

Caption Award for Best Vocals and Choreography

Outstanding Female Soloist at two invitationals- Lauryn Knight

Outstanding Performer Awards- Ta’korei Moore, Ashton Hunter (3 times), and Savannah Woehnker

2018-2019 Robotics Team

6th Grade students Kloee Knoke, Rafael Lopez, Evan Szczepaniack, Russo Johnstone, Carter Till, Phoebe Baker, Joel Escarrega-Perez, and Felipe Alviso competed against 32 other elementary schools and middle schools at Wawasee High School placing 14th, high enough to make it to the finals. 

2018-2019 Chess Team

2018-2019 2nd Annual FWCS Middle School City Chess Tournament Winners

MPMS Chess Team Champion- Ricardo Hernandez 

Sam Plumb and Nigel McFarren placed 4th and 5th in the FWCS Middle School City Chess Tournament

2018-2019 eCybermission Science Team- Backup Technology Communicators

Team Members: Haley Fulton, Vincent Hood, Nigel McFarren, and Melanie Reyes

Coaches: Larry Lesh and David Patton

Finished 1st in state. Finished 1st in the 11-state Regional. Advanced to National Competition.

Student Artists

Several sixth grade students in the 2018-2019 school year were chosen to display their art at the Fort Wayne Parks and Recreation Community Center. Among those who displayed their pieces were Rafael Lopez, Promyse Williams, Paw Say, Lily Ryan, Giahan Trinh, Britney Monterroso, Elisha Brown, Emelly Cornado, Isaac Cuevas, and Brett Cox. Three students received the top number of votes: Britney Monteroso, Promyse Williams, and Lily Ryan!

Scholastic Arts Competition

Diana Diaz, Lillie Dikty, Aristotle Hackbush, Molly Langton, Delilah Marion, Amia Russell, Annaliese Tester, and Audrey Woodruff all received awards for their different pieces.  A special congratulations to Diana Diaz who received four Gold Key awards, as well as three Silver Key awards and four Honorable Mentions!