Fort Wayne Community Schools - Assessment

Fort Wayne Community Schools - Assessment
The Assessment System is a collection of assessments aligned to FWCS and Indiana academic standards in reading/language arts and mathematics and includes assessments at the district, state, and national level. Designed as a critical component of a strong instructional program, the assessments are used to measure student learning and to identify student, class, school, and district strengths and weaknesses. Results of the assessments are used to modify instruction as necessary. Conscientious use of the Assessment System will lead to an alignment of the written, taught, and tested curricula which will result in improved student learning. Key components of the assessment system include:

Assessment Overview 2018-2019

CogAT (Cognitive Abilities Test)

  • This test measures students’ learned reasoning abilities in the three areas most linked to academic potential in school: Verbal, Quantitative, and Nonverbal. Data gained from this assessment will be used as a screener to indicate if further testing is needed to determine a high ability identification.
  • Screened in grades K, 2, & 5 and to select 8th grade students.
  • Full Battery administered to students who score in the 88th percentile or higher on local norms on the screener. 
  • Screener and Full Battery administered online to grades 2, 5, and 8; Kindergarten students take paper/pencil.
Teacher and Student

DIBELS Next (Dynamic Indicators of Basic Early Literacy Skills)

  • DIBELS Next measures are brief, powerful indicators of foundational early literacy skills that indicate if a student is on track for reading success. The measures are quick and efficient to administer and score, serve as universal screening (or benchmark assessment) and progress monitoring, identify students in need of intervention support, evaluate the effectiveness of interventions, and support the RtI/Multi-tiered model.
  • Administered three times a year in grades K-5 using a hand-held device.

Iowa Basic Skills Achievement Test

  • This test provides an achievement pathway to high ability identification for students that have not been previously identified, that require additional data to determine student’s needs.
  • Administered once a year to students identified by CogAT and SIGS data.

I AM (Indiana’s Alternate Measure)

  • I AM measures student achievement and growth according to Indiana’s Content Connectors aligned to the Indiana Academic Standards. I AM is the summative accountability assessment for students with significant cognitive disabilities in grades 3-8 and 10. It assesses:
    • English/Language Arts (Grades 3-8 and 10)
    • Mathematics (Grades 3-8 and 10)
    • Science (Grades 4, 6, and Biology)
    • Social Studies (Grade 5)
Wayne and Miami Students

ILEARN (Indiana’s Learning Evaluation Assessment Readiness Network)

  • ILEARN is Indiana’s new online computer adaptive assessment designed to measure your child’s proficiency of the Indiana Academic Standards in Grades 3–8, Biology and U.S. Government. ILEARN fulfills both state and federal legislative requirements as the accountability assessment for Indiana students and is the summative accountability assessment for Indiana students. It is given in the spring and assesses:
    • English/Language Arts (Grades 3-8)
    • Mathematics (Grades 3-8)
    • Science (Grades 4 and 6)
    • Social Studies (Grade 5)
    • Biology ECA (High School)

IREAD-3 (Indiana Reading Evaluation and Determination)

  • IREAD-3 is a summative assessment that measures foundational reading standards through grade 3.  It was developed as a result of House Enrolled Act 1367, or Public Law 109, in 2010 which "requires the evaluation of reading skills for students who are in grade three beginning in the Spring of 2012 to ensure that all students can read proficiently before moving on to grade four."
  • Administered once a year in March to students in grade 3, online. Students who do not pass are given an opportunity to retest online in the summer after participating in remediation.

ISTEP+ (Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress Plus)

  • ISTEP+ is a standardized test that is mandated by the State of Indiana for grade 10 and tests English/Language Arts and Math skills.
  • This test will be replaced by an assessment that is college and career focused.

PSAT (Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test)/NMSQT (National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test)

  • The PSAT is an exam given to high school sophomores and juniors to help them prepare for the SAT. It is administered by the College Board and co-sponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation in the United States. 
  • Administered one time in October of each school year.
  • The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and college scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.6 million entrants each year, and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements. Program entrants must take the test in the specified year of the high school program. The 2018 PSAT/NMSQT is the qualifying test for entry to the 2020 program. Most entrants will complete high school and enroll in college in 2020. Resources can be found at
Trip to Forest Park

SRI (Scholastic Reading Inventory)

  • The SRI is a computer-based reading assessment and progress monitoring tool that takes approximately 30-45 minutes to administer. Results from the SRI provide information for determining reading level (Lexile), comprehension, and instructional needs.
  • Administered three times a year in grades 6-12; additional assessment opportunities may be given upon teacher discretion throughout the year, but not more frequently than eight weeks.

TRC (Textual Reading Comprehension)

  • Amplify Atlas kits are the materials used to provide the Text and Reading Comprehension (TRC) assessment, a more in-depth diagnostic assessment that is administered with the DIBELS Next. The assessment is used to help guide student reading instruction throughout the school year. This program evaluates comprehension of text.
  • Administered three times a year in grades K-3 using a hand-held device and leveled books.

WIDA ACCESS (World-class Instructional Design and Assessment Assessing Comprehension and Communication in English State-to-State)

  • This comprehensive English proficiency test measures students’ annual growth in the English language domains of listening, speaking, reading, writing, and comprehension. Data gained from this assessment will measure progress from students’ previous proficiency level and identify those who qualify for formal exit from the ELL program.
  • Administered once a year to LEP students in grades K (paper/pencil) and 1-5 (online).
  • Administered once a year to LEP students in grades 6-12 (online).
  • Students no longer take WIDA ACCESS when they obtain an overall Level 5 (fluent).