Fort Wayne Community Schools - Board Responsibilities

FWCS Bylaws

| Board Meeting MinutesDistrict CalendarPresentation Archives |

The FWCS Board of School Trustees is composed of seven elected citizens. Five members represent specific districts; the remaining two are elected at-large. Each member must be at least 21 years of age, be a registered voter in the represented district, and have been a resident in the school corporation district for at least one year, and one year within the residence district.


The primary duties of the Board are as follows:

  • to formulate general policies for the operation of the schools.
  • to provide, by means of a tax levy, the physical facilities and funds necessary for the operation of the schools.
  • to employ a superintendent to act as the executive officer of the schools.
  • to help appraise the worth and effectiveness of the educational program.
  • to help interpret the education program to the community.

Indiana statute authorizes board members to act as a unit and not as individual members. No action is binding unless it is authorized by the Board as a whole at a regular or special meeting.


Next School Board meeting: Monday, October 22, 2018 at 6 p.m.

Unless otherwise advertised, Board Meetings take place in the Grile Administrative Center, 1200 S. Clinton, St., Fort Wayne, IN. Regular meetings are open to the public and are broadcast live on Comcast cable channel 54 and Verizon channel 24. Meetings are rebroadcast each Thursday at 7 p.m., and each Monday at 6 p.m.

Indiana law allows board members to meet in closed executive session to discuss personnel, legal and negotiation matters. However, all board action and voting must be conducted in public session.

Correspondence addressed to board members should be sent to the Grile Administrative Center, 1200 S. Clinton St., Fort Wayne, IN 46802. Or e-mail


  • Call to Order
  • Roll Call
  • Approval of Minutes
  • Awards and Recognitions
  • Unfinished Business
  • New Business
  • Reports, Information, Statements (No action will be taken on these items)
  • Comments, Discussion and Announcements
  • Next Meeting
  • Adjournment
  • Guests


Board meetings are conducted for the purpose of carrying on the official business of the school district. Meetings are not public forums but are meetings held in public. The Board encourages citizens to express interests and concerns related to the school district, and each regular meeting of the Board will include a section for general comments from the public following adjournment of the meeting.

Individuals or organizations desiring to speak to the Board should sign in prior to the start of each meeting. If the matter concerns a business or academic problem particular to an individual or concerning a particular school, the Board will not hear comments unless the chain of command and/or appropriate appeal procedures have been exhausted through prior discussions with the appropriate supervisor and the Superintendent or his/her designee in an attempt to resolve the problem. The Board will not permit personal attacks against any person by a speaker and will refer questions about operations to the Superintendent.

In accordance with State law, action by the Board on an item presented under general comments from the public is not permitted. No response of any kind will be required by or from any member of the Board or administration either during or at the conclusion of the speaker's remarks. Comments are limited to three (3) minutes. The School Board president may grant additional time in exceptional circumstances. The President of the Board, or in the absence of the President the presiding officer, is authorized to enforce these rules, and may stop any speaker that violates these public participation procedures.


Each board member is elected to a four-year term. Terms are staggered to provide continuity. Members take office January 1 and terms expire December 31 of applicable years. School board elections are conducted in November along with city, state and national elections.

In applicable election years, citizens can vote for one person from the district in which they live and two at-large members.


At the first meeting of each year, the board elects three members to serve as officers. Positions are president, vice president and secretary.


Each board member is eligible to receive $2,000 annually for services. Members also receive a stipend for each board meeting and executive session attended. Total compensation may not exceed $5,000 per member per year.


Board Board Meeting Agendas are mailed to media representatives and posted at the Grile Administrative Center information desk. Board Meeting Minutes are available for review at the information desk, the District's Internet home page ( and at individual schools.

Correspondence addressed to board members should be sent to the Grile Administrative Center, 1200 S. Clinton St., Fort Wayne, IN 46802. Or e-mail


Facts on voting and/or running for public office are available from the following: