Fort Wayne Community Schools - home page

Record Number: 10105
Displayed from: Aug 13, 2013 , until: Sep 09, 2013

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees approved three administrative appointments Monday, Aug. 12.

Debora Krauhs, Bunche Montessori Early Childhood Center Principal Debora Krauhs was appointed as the new principal of Bunche after nearly 20 years in education. She joined FWCS in 1994 as a substitute teacher and became a math teacher at Lakeside Middle School in 1995 where she stayed until becoming a math facilitator in 2000 at Study and Nebraska elementary schools. In 2002, she participated in the FWCS administrator internship program and the following year returned to her math interventionist position. She also worked as a reading instructor at Harrison Hill and Northcrest elementary schools before moving to Towles Intermediate School as a building coach in 2009. At Bunche, she replaces Marilyn Horan, who left the District for a position out of state.

Anne Miller, Bloomingdale Elementary Principal Anne Miller joins FWCS with nearly 30 years experience in elementary administration, consultation and teaching. Most recently, she served as principal of Queen of Angels School where she had been since 2010. Prior to that, she served as co-principal of Sacred Heart Elementary and assistant principal of Kyrene de Las Brisas Elementary in Arizona. She also worked as an education consultant from 1999 to 2006, assisting with curriculum development, discipline plans and classroom management. At Bloomingdale, she replaces Tim Bobay, who is now principal of Study Elementary.

Michael Sullivan, Middle School Area Director  Michael Sullivan joins FWCS with more than 15 years experience in education in Indianapolis. He began his education career at North Central High School where he taught English Language Arts and social studies. In 2004, he became an assistant principal at Wendell Phillips Elementary and the following year moved to assistant principal at Shortridge Middle School. In 2008, he became principal of Julian D. Coleman Alternative Complex, and two years later was named principal of John Marshall Community High School. As Middle School Area Director, he will work with Middle School Area Administrator Rita Turflinger in overseeing and supporting the District’s middle schools.

With nearly 30,000 students, Fort Wayne Community Schools is one of the largest school districts in Indiana. FWCS proudly allows families to choose any of its 50 schools through its successful school-choice program creating diversity in each school, including some with more than 75 languages spoken. FWCS offers seven magnet schools focusing on areas such as science and math, communication, fine arts or Montessori at the elementary and middle school level. In high school, students can choose from the prestigious International Baccalaureate program, Project Lead the Way or New Tech Academy as well as other rigorous academic and specialty training programs.