Fort Wayne Community Schools - home page

Record Number: 16761
Displayed from: Oct 17, 2017 , until: Dec 17, 2017

Fort Wayne Community Schools welcomes 54 community members into our schools to serve as guest principals for the annual Principal for a Day event. Guests representing local businesses, elected officials, service organizations and community groups, will visit their assigned schools the morning of Thursday, Oct. 19.

The guest principals will visit the schools from the beginning of the school day until noon, experiencing what a principal goes through in a day. From welcoming students into a building to dealing with concerned parents to working directly with teachers to improve academic achievement, principals do it all. The guests will see the amount of time principals spend in the classroom, a key component to ensuring each student is educated to high standards.

Following the shadowing experience, the principals and their guests are invited to lunch at the Family and Community Engagement Center, 230 E. Douglas Ave., where students in the FWCS Career Academy Culinary Arts program will serve a delicious meal.

“I always enjoy showing off what is going on in our schools,” Superintendent Wendy Robinson said. “Principal for a Day takes it to an extreme with guests in every single building on the same day. Our guests are often surprised by what they see because schools are so different today than when they attended school. I love hearing the excitement our guests have after spending a morning in our schools; excitement that often turns into new long-term community partnerships.”

The guest principals come from a variety of occupations, leadership positions and organizations in our community. The following is a list of the schools participating and their guest principals:

Abbett Dude Walker K105 Morning show
Adams Kyra Nolan Student Placement Manager, FWCS
FWCS Career Academy Eric Doden CEO, Greater Fort Wayne Inc.
Arlington Melissa Beber Director of Business Advocacy, Greater Fort Wayne Inc.
Blackhawk Carol Helton Attorney, City of Fort Wayne
Bloomingdale Austin Knox Chief Deputy Township Trustee, Wayne Township
Brentwood Rena Burden Chief Development Officer, Turnstone
Bunche Maria Norman Board Member, FWCS Board of School Trustees
Center for Academic Success at Nebraska Laura Swanson Vice President of Child & Adult Services, Park Center
Croninger Jacquie Downey Vice President Business Development, Lifeline Youth and Family Services & Crosswinds Counseling 
Fairfield  Deb Dolsen Manager, HR Operations, Fort Wayne Community Schools
Forest Park Tiffany Winling Owner, Tiffany & Company Studio of Dance
Franke Park Stephanie Veit Commercial Loan Officer, Three Rivers Federal Credit Union
Glenwood Park Marcia Haaff Chief Executive Officer, The Lutheran Foundation, Inc.
Haley Dr. Simran Kapur  
Harris Sen. Andy Zay Indiana State Senator, District 17
Harrison Hill Jennifer Baran-Prall Chief, Medical Administration Service at Veteran Affairs (VA) Northern Indiana Health Care System
Holland Michael Nutter President, Fort Wayne TinCaps
Indian Village Rev. Cheryl Garbe Pastor, First Wayne Street United Methodist Church
Irwin Jordan Lebamoff Member, FWCS Board of School Trustees
Irwin Patrick Harris-Fool Realtor, Century 21 Bradley Realty
Jefferson Justin Swanson Vice President, Bose Public Affairs Group
Kekionga Jennifer Rohlf Director of Empowerment, YWCA
Lakeside Brandon Steffen President and CEO, The Steffen Group
Lane Jeremiah Hatfield Associate Architect, Design Collaborative
Lincoln Theresa White Director of Development and Communications, Ronald McDonald House Charities of Northeast Indiana
Lindley Sen. Liz Brown Indiana State Senator, District 15
Maplewood Bernard Pollard* NFL player for 9 seasons
Memorial Park Wendy Stein Co-Owner, Stein Ad Promos
Miami  Michael Packnett President & CEO, Parkview Health
New Tech Monty Richmond Director of Human Resources & Safety, Brooks Construction
New Tech Jeff Austin Project Superintendent, Brooks Construction
North Side Rachel Blakeman Director of Community Research Institute, IPFW 
Northcrest Amos Norman Executive Director, Renaissance Point YMCA
Northrop Dick Conklin Fort Wayne Sister Cities International, Inc. 
Northwood Anne Duff Secretary, FWCS Board of School Trustees
Portage Jayson Maples Founder, Heroes and Legends Wrestling
Portage Steve Wilson (Kongo Kong) Professional Wrestler, Impact Wrestling
Price Lisa Hollister Director, Trauma & Acute Care Surgery, Parkview
Scott Terra Brantley Anchor, WANE TV
Shambaugh Michelle Merritt President & CEO, Merrfeld Career Management
Shawnee Sam Schwartz Co-founder, Eagle Marsh
Snider Christophe Dessaigne Senior Executive Manager of the Non-Profit Portfolio, Ambassador Group
South Side Jason Barnes Scout, Seattle Seahawks
South Wayne Phillip Colglazier Executive/Artistic Director, Fort Wayne Civic Theatre
St. Joseph Central John Caywood Allen County Building Commissioner
Study Nikki Sprunger Special Education Director, Fort Wayne Community Schools
Towles Intermediate Barrie Peterson Anthony Wayne Rotary
Washington Magistrate Lori Morgan Allen County Superior Court
Washington Center Joel Pierce General Manager and Chief Flight Instructor, Sweet Aviation LLC
Wayne Greg Mohr President/CEO, MidWest America Federal Credit Union
Waynedale Julie Hollingsworth President, FWCS Board of School Trustees
Weisser Park Phil Henry CEO, Paragon Tube Corporation and Midwest Scrap, LLC 
Whitney Young Dan Swartz Founder, Wunderkammer Company

* Visited on Tuesday, Oct. 17.

With nearly 30,000 students, Fort Wayne Community Schools is one of the largest school districts in Indiana. FWCS proudly allows families to choose any of its 50 schools through its successful school-choice program creating diversity in each school, including some with more than 75 languages spoken. FWCS offers seven magnet schools focusing on areas such as science and math, communication, fine arts or Montessori at the elementary and middle school level. In high school, students can choose from the prestigious International Baccalaureate program, Project Lead the Way or New Tech Academy as well as other rigorous academic and specialty training programs.