Fort Wayne Community Schools - home page

Record Number: 2547
Displayed from: Jul 11, 2006 , until: Aug 11, 2006

Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees approved the following personnel action during their regularly scheduled meeting July 10 in the Grile Administrative Center: Steven M. Jones Principal, Northcrest Elementary School Steven Jones joins FWCS from Simms, Mont., where he has been principal of several schools including Fort Shaw Elementary which is part of the Sun River Valley School District. He was most recently principal of their Simms High School. Prior to becoming principal, he was director of media and technology and administrative assistant to the principal at McGraw Elementary IB World School in Fort Collins, Colo. from 2002 to 2004. From 2001 to 2002, he was a fifth-grade teacher at McGraw. He began his teaching career in 1995 at Hobart Middle School, Hobart, Ind. and has also taught at middle schools in Middlebury and Goshen, Ind. His bachelor's degree is from Illinois College and his master's degree is from Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne. Deborah G. Caudill Assistant Principal, Snider High School Deborah Caudill has been principal of New Harmony School, a K-12 consolidated school in New Harmony, Ind. since 2000. Prior to that appointment, she had been principal of New Middletown Elementary School for four years and New Middletown Grade School from 1994-96. She began her teaching career in 1975 and has taught for South Harrison, Orleans and Staunton School Corporations. Her bachelor's and master's degrees are from Indiana University, Southeast in New Albany. Kevin W. Damerell Assistant Principal, Northrop High School Kevin Damerell joins FWCS from Portage High School West in Portage, Ind., where he has been assistant principal-in-charge since 2002. Prior to that time he served as assistant principal at Portage High School East for three years. He began his teaching career in 1994 at Hebron Junior/Senior High School in Hebron, Ind. Then he taught for a year at Harrison Middle School before becoming a continuing lecturer in the mathematics department at Purdue University, Calumet. His bachelor's degree is from Purdue University, West Lafayette and his master's degree is from Purdue University, Calumet. Vincent L. Murphy Assistant Principal, Lane Middle School Vincent Murphy has been with FWCS since 1990 when he was named assistant principal at Geyer Middle School, where he has remained until his appointment as assistant principal at Lane Middle School today. He began his teaching career in 1978 in Muncie, Ind. and has also been a teacher, then vice principal in Marion, Ind. His bachelor's and master's degrees are from Ball State University.

With nearly 30,000 students, Fort Wayne Community Schools is one of the largest school districts in Indiana. FWCS proudly allows families to choose any of its 50 schools through its successful school-choice program creating diversity in each school, including some with more than 75 languages spoken. FWCS offers seven magnet schools focusing on areas such as science and math, communication, fine arts or Montessori at the elementary and middle school level. In high school, students can choose from the prestigious International Baccalaureate program, Project Lead the Way or New Tech Academy as well as other rigorous academic and specialty training programs.