Fort Wayne Community Schools - home page

Record Number: 2610
Displayed from: Sep 18, 2006 , until: Oct 09, 2006

Although he came from a family of educators, Todd Roberts believed he wanted to be a lawyer. Now Roberts knows - just three years after coming into the profession - he was always meant to teach. Today, Superintendent of Public Instruction Suellen Reed named Roberts the 2007 Indiana Teacher of the Year Runner-Up. Mr. Roberts understands the importance of innovative education, Dr. Reed said. We can all learn from his creativity and dedication to each and every student. An Indiana Department of Education committee comprised of department personnel, and external community and education leaders - including former teachers of the year - selected Roberts as the runner-up after interviewing 10 finalists on Sept. 5. Roberts will receive $500 from Indiana Farm Bureau and a leather attach - case from Brenner Luggage, plus a framed certificate from the Department of Education. Fort Wayne Community Schools Superintendent Wendy Robinson nominated Roberts for the award. In her letter of recommendation, Robinson cited Roberts' dedication to his students, his strong work ethic and his creativity as qualities that make him an outstanding educator. (Roberts) uses the universal language of technology to reach, influence and teach students of all cultures, Robinson wrote in a letter of recommendation. Roberts' passion was another factor in his selection. The power of Todd's teaching is revealed in his zeal to engage ALL students in meaningful learning, Principal Matt Schiebel wrote. Todd's unwavering commitment to his students has resulted in an exponential acceleration of his own professional development. Anna Shults, a third-grade teacher from Hamilton Southeastern Schools in Fishers was named the 2007 Indiana Teacher of the Year. As the winner, Shults will receive $1,000 from Indiana Farm Bureau and scholarship opportunities from Ball State University, Indiana State University, and Indiana University. In addition, she will have the option to become a Teacher in Residence for one year with the Indiana Department of Education. She will also represent Indiana at the national competition in Washington, D.C. next spring. The SMARTer Kids Foundation of Canada will present the Indiana Teacher of the Year with a technology package valued at approximately $5,000, which will include a SMART Board - interactive whiteboard and SMART Ideas - concept mapping software (from SMART Technologies, Inc.), an NEC - VT projector (from NEC Solutions America - Visual Systems Division) and a Dana laptop alternative (from AlphaSmart, Inc.). In addition, each of the 10 finalists receives $100 and will also receive SMART Ideas software from the SMARTer Kids Foundation of Canada. All nominees will be honored Nov. 1 at the Hilton Indianapolis North at a dinner hosted by the Indiana Department of Education and the program's corporate sponsors - Indiana Farm Bureau, Inc., the Farm Bureau Insurance Companies and Scholastic Inc. The Indiana Teacher of the Year program is sponsored by the Indiana Department of Education, the Indiana Farm Bureau, Inc., the Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance Companies, the SMARTer Kids Foundation and Scholastic Inc. The National Teacher of the Year Program, presented by the ING Foundation, is a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers and sponsored by Scholastic Inc. For more information on Indiana's Teacher of the Year program, please visit:

With nearly 30,000 students, Fort Wayne Community Schools is one of the largest school districts in Indiana. FWCS proudly allows families to choose any of its 50 schools through its successful school-choice program creating diversity in each school, including some with more than 75 languages spoken. FWCS offers seven magnet schools focusing on areas such as science and math, communication, fine arts or Montessori at the elementary and middle school level. In high school, students can choose from the prestigious International Baccalaureate program, Project Lead the Way or New Tech Academy as well as other rigorous academic and specialty training programs.