Fort Wayne Community Schools - home page

Record Number: 3115
Displayed from: Apr 23, 2007 , until: May 25, 2007
Fort Wayne Community Schools staff and parents swept the Indiana State PTA awards presented during a celebration April 22 at their 95th annual convention held in Indianapolis. Louise Swihart from Lakeside Middle School was recognized as Outstanding Teacher, while Charles DeFord of Northside High School was named Outstanding Principal. In addition, Indiana PTA honored Northrop High School PTA as the outstanding PTA unit and Fort Wayne Area PTA Council as outstanding council. Tina Hartman and Kathie Green serve as the local unit's co-presidents; Rose Hillery is the Fort Wayne Council president. Irwin Elementary School PTA took the top state award for their newsletter. Terry Taylor is Irwin's PTA newsletter editor. Northrop and Fort Wayne Council won awards because of their commitment to nurturing the relationships and partnerships between home, school and community. The members and officers truly care about children and work together to create a variety of programs to address their needs, said Dee Jones, Indiana State PTA president. More than 300 delegates and guests attended the three-day PTA Convention. For information, contact: Dee Jones, state president, 219/902-2159.

With nearly 30,000 students, Fort Wayne Community Schools is one of the largest school districts in Indiana. FWCS proudly allows families to choose any of its 50 schools through its successful school-choice program creating diversity in each school, including some with more than 75 languages spoken. FWCS offers seven magnet schools focusing on areas such as science and math, communication, fine arts or Montessori at the elementary and middle school level. In high school, students can choose from the prestigious International Baccalaureate program, Project Lead the Way or New Tech Academy as well as other rigorous academic and specialty training programs.