FWCS sweeps State PTA awards for second year

Record Number: 4032
Displayed from: Apr 22, 2008 , until: May 31, 2008
For the second consecutive year, Fort Wayne Community Schools swept the State PTA awards, being recognized for having the top teacher, principal, school PTA and district wide PTA. Northwood Middle School teacher Todd Roberts was named Outstanding Teacher; Northwood Principal Matt Schiebel won Outstanding Principal; Northrop High School was named Outstanding PTA unit for the second straight year; and the Fort Wayne Area PTA Council won Outstanding Council for the second straight year. The winners were honored Sunday during the Indiana State PTA's annual conference. The state council also announced Sunday that Northwood PTA President Tina Hartman will become the next Indiana State PTA President. "We know we have the best employees and the best parents in Fort Wayne Community Schools, but it's always nice when someone else recognizes us," Superintendent Wendy Robinson said. "PTAs today are different than they were generations ago. The members are actively involved in making our schools better and helping our students reach their potential. We appreciate all the work they do." Last year, in addition to Northrop and the Fort Wayne Area PTA being honored, Lakeside Middle School teacher Louise Swihart was named Outstanding Teacher, and North Side High School Principal Chuck DeFord was named Outstanding Principal.

With nearly 30,000 students, Fort Wayne Community Schools is one of the largest school districts in Indiana. FWCS proudly allows families to choose any of its 50 schools through its successful school-choice program creating diversity in each school, including some with more than 75 languages spoken. FWCS offers seven magnet schools focusing on areas such as science and math, communication, fine arts or Montessori at the elementary and middle school level. In high school, students can choose from the prestigious International Baccalaureate program, Project Lead the Way or New Tech Academy as well as other rigorous academic and specialty training programs.