Fort Wayne Community Schools - home page

Record Number: 4553
Displayed from: Nov 20, 2008 , until: Dec 20, 2008
Harris Elementary School Principal Renee Beaman and Shawnee Middle School Principal Matt Schiebel will be recognized this weekend during the fall conference of the Indiana Association of School Principals. Schiebel was named Middle School Principal of the Year and Beaman was named Elementary Principal of the Year for IASP's District 3, which includes 10 counties in northeast Indiana, earlier this year. One of the 12 district winners will be chosen as the State Principal of the Year and announced at the conference Sunday, Nov. 23. Matt and Renee are two of the great principals we have serving children in Fort Wayne Community Schools, Superintendent Dr. Wendy Robinson said. It is not surprising that they would be recognized by their peers for their outstanding work. Beaman joined FWCS in 2001 as principal of Harris Elementary, after spending 12 years as a teacher and administrator in other Indiana school districts. Beaman is President of IASP District 3 and a member of the Riley Hospital Kids Caring & Sharing Advisory Board. Harris has been a Riley Miracle School for several years under Beaman's leadership, and last year, she led an effort to have Fort Wayne Community Schools become a Miracle Corporation. To receive Miracle status, a school or school district must raise $1 for each student in the school or district to support Riley Hospital. FWCS became the largest school district in the state to reach Miracle Corporation status. Schiebel joined FWCS in 1987 and served as a science teacher at Blackhawk Middle School from 1988 until he became an administrative intern at Geyer Middle School in 2001. He became assistant principal of Lane Middle School in 2002 and moved to principal of Northwood in 2004. He moved to Shawnee Middle School this year. In 1997, Schiebel was named the FWCS Teacher of the Year and was one of 10 state finalists. He was recognized by the United Hispanic Americans in 2006, receiving the Community Partner of the Year Award, and earlier this year, he was named the 2008 PTA Principal of the Year.

With nearly 30,000 students, Fort Wayne Community Schools is one of the largest school districts in Indiana. FWCS proudly allows families to choose any of its 50 schools through its successful school-choice program creating diversity in each school, including some with more than 75 languages spoken. FWCS offers seven magnet schools focusing on areas such as science and math, communication, fine arts or Montessori at the elementary and middle school level. In high school, students can choose from the prestigious International Baccalaureate program, Project Lead the Way or New Tech Academy as well as other rigorous academic and specialty training programs.