Fort Wayne Community Schools - home page

Record Number: 5196
Displayed from: Jun 08, 2009 , until: Jul 08, 2009

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees on Monday, June 8, approved several administrative changes for the 2009-10 school year. Elementary School Robin Peterman, Abbett Principal Robin Peterman joined FWCS in 2006 as a language arts instructional facilitator at Scott Academy. She became an administrative intern for the 2008-09 school year, serving at Towles Intermediate School and Waynedale Elementary School. She joined FWCS with 28 years of education experience. Prior to joining FWCS she served as an adult education teacher in Elkhart Community Schools and an elementary teacher at Smith-Greene Community School districts for 28 years. She replaces Leslie McClung, who is moving to a new assignment. Jeff Cline, Fairfield Principal Jeff Cline joined FWCS in 1999 as the principal at Irwin Elementary, the district's math and science magnet school. Under his leadership, Irwin was named a 4-Star School by the State of Indiana this year. Cline started his career in Wabash City Schools as a fourth-grade teacher. He also worked in Warsaw Community Schools as a fourth-grade teacher and in Indianapolis Public Schools as a sixth-grade teacher. He replaces Sherry Britt, who moved to Whitney Young Early Childhood Center. Carolyn Sleet, Harris Principal Carolyn Sleet has been with FWCS since 1985 when she joined the district as a third-grade teacher at Weisser Park Elementary School. She participated in the administrative intern program at Croninger Elementary during the 1997-98 school year and became principal of Abbett Elementary in 1998. Sleet was named principal of Weisser Park in 2004. She started her education career as a teacher in Milan Community Schools and later worked in Anderson Community Schools. At Harris, she replaces Renée Beaman, who is leaving the district. Ingrid Laidroo-Martin, Irwin Principal Ingrid Laidroo-Martin started her career with FWCS in 1990 as a teacher at Washington Center Elementary School. In 2004, she became a language arts facilitator in Curriculum Services. She participated in the administrative intern program during the 2007-08 school year at Lane Middle School and served as assistant principal at Northcrest Elementary School during the 2008-09 school year. At Irwin, she replaces Jeff Cline, who is moving to Fairfield Elementary. Carrie Kennedy, Pleasant Center Principal Carrie Kennedy joined FWCS in 2001 as a math and science teacher at Lane Middle School. During the 2008-09 school year, she served as an administrative intern at Nebraska Elementary School and Memorial Park Middle School. Kennedy started her career in education as a seventh-grade science teacher at Indianapolis Public Schools and worked as a fifth-grade teacher for four years in MSD Pike Township. At Pleasant Center, she replaces John Key, who is moving to Weisser Park Elementary. Richelle Miller, Washington Center Principal Richelle Miller began working at FWCS in 1996 as a substitute teacher. In 1997, she became a fifth-grade teacher at Brentwood Elementary, where she stayed for nine years. During the 2006-07 school year, Miller was an administrative intern at Portage Middle School. In 2007, she became the assistant principal at Forest Park Elementary, where she has been for two years. Before joining FWCS, she was in the U.S. Air Force for four years. At Washington Center, Miller replaces Debra Casey, who is retiring.

John Key, Weisser Park Principal John Key has been with FWCS since 1994, beginning as a teacher at Forest Park Elementary and later moving to St. Joseph Central Elementary. During the 2005-06 school year, he worked as an administrative intern at Brentwood Elementary. He became the assistant principal at Forest Park in 2006 and was named principal of Pleasant Center Elementary in 2007. At Weisser Park, he replaces Carolyn Sleet, who is moving to Harris Elementary. Middle School Tim Rayl, Memorial Park Principal Tim Rayl has been with FWCS since 2001, when he joined the district as a teacher at Abbett Elementary. He was one of the first teachers to work at Towles Intermediate School when it opened in 2003, and in 2005, he became a Title I math facilitator. During the 2006-07 school year, he served as an administrative intern at Lakeside Middle School. In 2007, he was named assistant principal at Portage Middle School. Rayl started his education career at a fifth-grade teacher in Tampa, Fla. At Memorial Park, he replaces Brian Smith who is leaving the district to take a position as Superintendent of North Newton Schools in Morocco, Ind. High School Deborah Watson, Snider Principal Deborah Watson is rejoining FWCS after serving as an administrator in East Allen County Schools since 1999. She began her career with East Allen County Schools as a business and economics teacher at Paul Harding High School in 1979. After 14 years of teaching at Harding and Woodlan Junior-Senior High School, she became assistant principal of Harding in 1993, and in 1996, she moved to the same position at Woodlan. She joined FWCS in 1997 and served as principal of Jefferson Middle School until 2000 when she returned to Woodlan as principal. When Prince Chapman Academy opened in 2002, she was appointed principal of the new middle school. Last year, she returned to Woodlan as principal. At Snider, Watson replaces Steve Simmons, who is moving to another position in the district. Russ Isaacs, Snider Athletic Director Russ Isaacs has been with FWCS since 1976, starting as a business teacher at Snider High School. In 1983, he became assistant principal of Snider and later returned to the classroom as a business and physical education teacher. Isaacs served as the Snider football coach from 1991 through 2008, including a state championship in 1992, and wrestling coach from 1976-83. Prior to joining FWCS, he taught U.S. History, business and law at Tippecanoe Valley Schools for one year. He replaces Mike Hawley, who retired.

With nearly 30,000 students, Fort Wayne Community Schools is one of the largest school districts in Indiana. FWCS proudly allows families to choose any of its 50 schools through its successful school-choice program creating diversity in each school, including some with more than 75 languages spoken. FWCS offers seven magnet schools focusing on areas such as science and math, communication, fine arts or Montessori at the elementary and middle school level. In high school, students can choose from the prestigious International Baccalaureate program, Project Lead the Way or New Tech Academy as well as other rigorous academic and specialty training programs.