Fort Wayne Community Schools - home page

Record Number: 5852
Displayed from: Jan 13, 2010 , until: Feb 13, 2010
Croninger and Irwin elementary schools were named Four Star Schools for the 2008-09 school year, the highest distinction given to schools by the state. Schools are awarded the designation if they are among the top 25 percent of schools in the state, based on ISTEP+ results and attendance rates. Statewide, 188 schools were named Four Star Schools. This is the fourth consecutive year Croninger has earned the designation and the second year for Irwin. "Croninger is honored to receive this coveted award for the fourth year in a row," Principal Rebecca Dennis said. "The teachers and staff make it their mission each day to reach every child's individual learning needs. This is an ongoing process and a collaborative team effort that produces high quality results. Teachers work very hard and in close cooperation with parents who support our school." At Irwin, Principal Ingrid Laidroo-Martin credits the work done by teachers and students under former principal Jeff Cline, who moved to Fairfield Elementary this year. "Staff members looked at their own data, and helped the students understand the data so they could take responsibility for their own success," she said. "I think that's what did it, and that is what we will keep doing. We are working closely with parents and students to make sure they know where they stand and what they need to do to be successful."

With nearly 30,000 students, Fort Wayne Community Schools is one of the largest school districts in Indiana. FWCS proudly allows families to choose any of its 50 schools through its successful school-choice program creating diversity in each school, including some with more than 75 languages spoken. FWCS offers seven magnet schools focusing on areas such as science and math, communication, fine arts or Montessori at the elementary and middle school level. In high school, students can choose from the prestigious International Baccalaureate program, Project Lead the Way or New Tech Academy as well as other rigorous academic and specialty training programs.