Fort Wayne Community Schools - home page

Record Number: 7428
Displayed from: Apr 19, 2011 , until: Jun 30, 2011
Several Fort Wayne Community Schools PTA (Parent-Teacher Association) and PTSA (Parent-Teacher-Student Association) groups received honors during the Indiana PTA Convention for their efforts in promoting schools and parent involvement. For the second time in four years, Shawnee Principal Matt Schiebel was named Outstanding Principal of the Year. He first received the award in 2008 when he was principal of Northwood Middle School. Kathie Green, a longtime FWCS PTA volunteer who now works with the Shawnee Middle School PTSA, was awarded the Beverly Zawadski Advocacy Award. Shambaugh Elementary PTA was given an Outstanding Website Award and Shawnee Middle School PTA and Northrop High School PTSA were name Honor Units for the Northeast Region. Several schools were recognized for increasing parent involvement with growing membership. Fairfield, Lincoln, Price, St. Joseph Central, Shambaugh, Waynedale and Weisser Park elementary school PTAs increased membership by 25 percent. Northcrest, South Wayne and Washington elementary school PTAs and Kekionga and Lakeside middle school PTSAs increased membership by 50 percent. Northcrest also received an Outstanding Membership Achievement Award.

With nearly 30,000 students, Fort Wayne Community Schools is one of the largest school districts in Indiana. FWCS proudly allows families to choose any of its 50 schools through its successful school-choice program creating diversity in each school, including some with more than 75 languages spoken. FWCS offers seven magnet schools focusing on areas such as science and math, communication, fine arts or Montessori at the elementary and middle school level. In high school, students can choose from the prestigious International Baccalaureate program, Project Lead the Way or New Tech Academy as well as other rigorous academic and specialty training programs.