Fort Wayne Community Schools - home page

Record Number: 9181
Displayed from: Oct 08, 2012 , until: Nov 08, 2012

Fort Wayne Community Schools welcomes 50 community members into our schools to serve as guest principals for the annual Principal for a Day event. Guests representing local businesses, service organizations and community groups will visit their assigned schools the morning of Wednesday, Oct. 10.

The guest principals will visit the schools from the beginning of the school day until noon, experiencing what a principal goes through in a day. From welcoming students into a building to dealing with concerned parents to working directly with teachers to improve academic achievement, principals do it all. The guests will see the amount of time principals spend as instructional leaders, a key component to ensuring each student is educated to high standards.

Following the shadowing experience, the principals and their guests are invited to lunch at Anthis Career Center, 1200 S. Barr St., where Culinary Arts students will prepare and serve a delicious meal.

“This event is one of the highlights of the school year,” Superintendent Wendy Robinson said. “People often don’t realize how much schools have changed since they graduated. In particular, most haven’t had the opportunity to see what a modern-day principal does all day. The days of sitting in an office managing a building are gone. Now, principals are in classrooms daily serving as an instructional leader and as a person students know as more than just the enforcer of rules. We are proud to show off the success our schools have had by welcoming guests from the community.”

The guest principals come from a variety of occupations, leadership positions and organizations in our community. The following is a list of the schools participating and their guest principals:


School Guest Principal
Elementary Schools  
Abbett  Todd Stephenson, CEO, United Way of Allen County
Adams  Tom Harris, Director of Human Resources, Fort Wayne Community Schools
Arlington  Don Wood, Founder & CEO, 80/20 Inc.
Bloomingdale  Kathie Green, Congressman Marlin Stutzman's Office & Fort Wayne Area PTA
 Council President
Brentwood  Johnathon Fillenworth, Manager, Lowe's
Bunche  Samm Johnson, Extension Educator, Purdue Extension, Allen County
Croninger  Mark Ryan, Creative Services Manager, WFWA
Fairfield  Sen. Carlin Yoder
Forest Park   Robin Ness, Raytheon
Franke Park  Grady Roush, Captain, Fort Wayne Fire Department Station 11

Glenwood Park

 John Peirce, Vice-President, FWCS Board of School Trustees
Haley  Tom Cress, Sales Specialist, Fort Wayne Accura
Harris  Douglas Bishop, President, Wyndemere Neighborhood Association
Harrison Hill  Beth Ann Gibson, Capital Projects Coordinator, FWCS
Holland  Michaelle Stirratt, President, Holland PTA
Indian Village  Jim Burg, Interim-Dean of the College of Education and Public Policy, IPFW
Irwin  Mike Nutter, President & General Manager, Fort Wayne TinCaps
Lincoln  Pastor Karen Koelsch, Covenant United Methodist Church
Lindley  Fernando Zapari, Editor, El Mexicano Newspaper
Maplewood  Katy Silliman, Director, Vision 2020
Nebraska  Lisa Olinger, Board member, FWCS Board of School Trustees
Northcrest  Michelle Fraser, Senior IT Business Analyst, Vera Bradley
Price  Rosie O'Grady, Co-chair, Northwest Area Partnership
Scott  Rae Gonterman, Senior Vice President, Parkview Health Cancer Services Line
Shambaugh  Carl Drummond, Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences, IPFW
South Wayne  Geoff Paddock, Executive Director, Headwaters Park
St. Joseph Central  Scott Pfeiffer, 3 Rivers Federal Credit Union
Study  Ngozi Rogers, Creative Services Director, Indiana's NewsCenter
Towles  Richie Cummins, Miami District Executive, Boy Scouts of America
Washington  Jim Whitaker, Lion's Den Ministry
Washington Center  Gordon Murphy, Owner, Fort Wayne Door, Inc.
Waynedale  Sharon Eisbart, Owner, Sharon Eisbart Corporate Art
Weisser Park  Dan Ross, Director of Community Development, Arts United

Whitney Young


 Jordan Lebamoff, Board member, FWCS Board of School Trustees


Middle Schools  
Blackhawk  Dr. Tom Blake, Dentist
Jefferson  Whitney Caudill, Associate Dean for Administration & Finance, Manchester
 University School of Pharmacy
Kekionga  Eric Black, Retired, Fort Wayne Police Department
Lakeside  Chip Clark, Youth for Christ
Lane  Edward Dahm, Mike's Car Wash
Memorial Park  Connie Collins, Assistant Professor of Education, University of Saint Francis
Miami  Dr. Quinton Dixie, Ethnic & Cultural Studies Program Director, IPFW
Northwood  Lamar Holliday, Reporter, WANE
Portage  Jennifer Callison, Vice President/Realtor, Mike Thomas Associates/F.C. Tucker



 Becky Hill, Board member, FWCS Board of School Trustees


High Schools  
Anthis Career Center  Mark Kaszowski, Facility Area Manager, General Motors Company
New Tech Academy  Mike Conley, local musician
North Side  Susan Trent, Attorney, Rothberg Logan & Warsco
Snider  Dr. Heather Schilling, Chair, Department of Education, Manchester University
South Side   Patrick Dooley, Vice President of Airport Development, Fort Wayne-Allen
 County Economic Development Alliance



 Mike McAlexander, Chief Deputy, Allen County Prosecutor's Office

 Joe Jordan, Executive Director, Boys & Girls Clubs of Fort Wayne


With nearly 30,000 students, Fort Wayne Community Schools is one of the largest school districts in Indiana. FWCS proudly allows families to choose any of its 50 schools through its successful school-choice program creating diversity in each school, including some with more than 75 languages spoken. FWCS offers seven magnet schools focusing on areas such as science and math, communication, fine arts or Montessori at the elementary and middle school level. In high school, students can choose from the prestigious International Baccalaureate program, Project Lead the Way or New Tech Academy as well as other rigorous academic and specialty training programs.