Fort Wayne Community Schools - home page

Record Number: 9896
Displayed from: May 13, 2013 , until: Jun 30, 2013

Fort Wayne Community Schools will say good-bye to 73 retirees with nearly 2,000 combined years of service at the annual retirement dinner Thursday, May 16.

The district wishes the best to the teachers, bus drivers, classroom assistants, administrators and others who dedicated many years to making the lives of children better. The years of service for this year’s group of retirees range from 12 to 49, and each year made a difference to students.

The following are the retirees FWCS honors this year:

Name Position Years of Service

Lynn Scotty Smuts

Business teacher, Snider


Carolyn Yates

Language arts teacher, Lakeside  43

Margaret Schimmel

Third-grade teacher, Waynedale  42

Shelley Wellington

English teacher, Snider  40.5

John H. Weicker

Director of Security  40

Judith Henderson

District instructional coach  39.5

Patrick Blose

Assistant principal, Towles Montessori  39

Janet Perez

English/reading teacher, Anthis Career Center


Robert Ping

Science teacher, Lane  39

William Schott

Fifth-grade teacher, Weisser Park  39

Theresa Stumpf

Interventionist, Weisser Park  39

Mary Yarnelle

First-grade teacher, St. Joseph Central  37.5

Stephany Bourne

Principal, Indian Village  37

Donn Nichols

Fifth-grade teacher, Weisser Park  36.5

Kevin Fahlsing

Bus technician


Bonnie Rogers

Manager, Continuing Education  34.5

Janet Davis

Student interventionist, Haley  34

Rhonda Lawrence

Second-grade teacher, Shambaugh  33.5

Debra Fry

Physical education teacher, Croninger


Pamela Baker

Spanish teacher, Northrop  32.5

Larry Shelton

Physical education teacher, Forest Park


Marsha Flora

English/journalism teacher, Northrop  31.5

Judith Bransteter

Math teacher, Anthis Career Center  29

Glenda Hayworth

Counselor, Jefferson  29

Elaine Kemerer

Senior programmer, Technology  27

Diane Cox

Secretary, Continuing Education  26

Susan Verse

Fourth-grade teacher, Maplewood  25.5

Julie Farrimond

Secretary, Chief Operations Office  25.5

Roberta Bernard

Secretary, Security  25

Judith Keys

Bus driver  25

Julie Bird

Sixth-grade social studies teacher, Lakeside  25

Lynn Hall

Manager, Compensation & Benefits  25

Lee Murphy

Special Education-Instructional Coach, North Side


Shirley Taylor

Extracurricular clerk, Transportation


Patricia Russell

Clerk, Media Services  25

Cynthia Ricker

Third-grade teacher, Glenwood Park  24.5

Lynn Yoder

Language Arts, Portage  24

Gloria Dance

Social studies/math teacher, Jefferson  23.5

Marsha White

School psychologist, Special Education  23.5

Cynthia Ellinwood

Kindergarten teacher, Whitney Young Early Childhood  23
Deborah Nunn-Persley Third-grade teacher, Harrison Hill  23
Jean Strawser

Family & Consumer science/media, Miami


Donna Sturgeon

Special education, Forest Park  23

Jeanne Nes

Media center teacher, Lindley  23

Joyce Sowders

Instructional assistant, Holland  22.5

Christine Michael

Science teacher, Irwin


Wanda Sommer

Student interventionist, Maplewood  22

Mary Eliasson

Secretary/Treasurer, South Wayne  22

Kathleen Minton

Bus driver  22

Brenda Lee

Bus assistant


Rosa Sherman

Instructional assistant, Franke Park  21

Diane Perriguey

Language arts/science, Portage  21

Luke Richardson

Construction trades instructor, Anthis Career Center  21

Sue Ellen Cash

Safety coordinator, Transportation  19

Marcella Degitz

Accounting supervisor


Sandra Bruce

Guidance secretary, North Side


Julie Klugman

Media clerk, Harrison Hill  18.5

Donna Lobdell

Secretary, Miami  18.5

Monica Etter

Textbook rental coordinator  18

Linda Keifer

Instructional assistant, Haley  17.5

Karen Murphy

Bus assistant


Diane Williams Woods

Receptionist, South Side  17

Chris Greene

Special education assistant, Kekionga  17

Cynthia Asselin

Fifth-grade teacher, Bloomingdale  16.5

Nancy Herber

Secretary, Continuing Education  16.5

Dawn Rosendall

Student interventionist, Lindley  16

Robert Warnsley

In-school suspension supervisor, Jefferson


Elise Stier

Second-grade teacher, Washington  15.5

Ronald Bade

Bus driver  15

Nancy Krumm

Family & consumer science, South Side  15

Donna Sickafus

Secretary, Maintenance & Operations  15

Beverly Johnson

Baker, Snider  13

Bonnie Fairfield

Internal auditor  12


With nearly 30,000 students, Fort Wayne Community Schools is one of the largest school districts in Indiana. FWCS proudly allows families to choose any of its 50 schools through its successful school-choice program creating diversity in each school, including some with more than 75 languages spoken. FWCS offers seven magnet schools focusing on areas such as science and math, communication, fine arts or Montessori at the elementary and middle school level. In high school, students can choose from the prestigious International Baccalaureate program, Project Lead the Way or New Tech Academy as well as other rigorous academic and specialty training programs.