FWCS News Headlines for 2012-2013

FWCS News Headlines for 2012-2013

Want to know what's happening in Fort Wayne Community Schools? You've come to the right spot. This is the area to find district-wide news for the current school year. Looking for news from past years? Check out our News Archive.

Archived News Headlines

Current News Headlines

FWCS Families Register for 2013-14 School Year (Tuesday, July 30, 2013)

Registration for the 2013-14 school year will be held Friday, Aug. 2, and Monday, Aug. 5, at all (read full article)


Volunteers Spruce Up FWCS Buildings for United Way Day of Caring (Tuesday, July 30, 2013)

Nearly 150 volunteers will clean, paint and spruce up the landscaping at nine Fort Wayne (read full article)


Free and Reduced-Price Meal Applications Due Aug. 9 (Thursday, July 25, 2013)

The application for free and reduced-price meals and textbooks for students is now available (read full article)


Title I Pre-K Programs Earn NAEYC Re-accreditation (Wednesday, June 26, 2013)

Pre-kindergarten programs at Bloomingdale, Fairfield, Holland, Nebraska, South Wayne and Study (read full article)


Security Director, Continuing Ed Manager Approved (Tuesday, June 25, 2013)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees approved two administrative (read full article)


FWCS to Switch to PowerSchool for Student Management (Tuesday, June 25, 2013)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees approved purchasing the PowerSchool (read full article)


High School Director, New Principal for Study Approved (Tuesday, June 11, 2013)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees approved two administrative (read full article)


FWCS Summer Meal Program Begins Monday (Thursday, June 06, 2013)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will again sponsor the Summer Food Service Program for Children (read full article)


FWCS Celebrates the Class of 2013 (Wednesday, June 05, 2013)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will celebrate commencement Friday and Saturday for the nearly (read full article)


Schools End the Year by Celebrating Student Successes (Wednesday, June 05, 2013)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will wrap up the 2012-13 school year by celebrating student (read full article)


Schools Honor Students Moving to New Levels (Thursday, May 30, 2013)

Students across Fort Wayne Community Schools will be recognized over the next few days for (read full article)


South Side History teacher named FWCS Teacher of the Year (Friday, May 24, 2013)

South Side High School World History Teacher Emily Oberlin has been named the 2013 Fort Wayne (read full article)


Parents, Neighbors Invited to Meetings on Construction at Harrison Hill, Memorial Park (Tuesday, May 21, 2013)

Fort Wayne Community Schools is inviting parents, neighbors and other concerned community (read full article)


Principal Changes Announced for 2013-14 (Monday, May 20, 2013)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees on Monday, May 20, approved several (read full article)


FWCS says farewell to 73 retirees (Monday, May 13, 2013)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will say good-bye to 73 retirees with nearly 2,000 combined years (read full article)


Croninger, Irwin Named Four Star Schools (Monday, May 13, 2013)

Croninger and Irwin elementary schools have been designated Four Star Schools by the Indiana (read full article)


Enrollment Open for FWCS Summer Driver Education (Tuesday, April 30, 2013)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will offer Driver Education in two summer sessions – June (read full article)


FWCS Natatorium Earns Platinum Safety Award (Monday, April 22, 2013)

Fort Wayne Community Schools’ Helen P. Brown Natatorium received the 2012 Platinum (read full article)


Parents, Neighbors Invited to Snider Meeting (Friday, April 19, 2013)

Fort Wayne Community Schools is inviting all Snider High School parents, neighbors and other (read full article)


Middle School Students Take on Social Issues in Speech Contest (Monday, April 15, 2013)

Northwood Middle School student Tamara Djankovic won the Fort Wayne Community Schools 2013 (read full article)


Weisser Park Students Present Work at Night at the Museum (Monday, April 15, 2013)

Weisser Park Elementary students will show off their best work in digital art and music at an (read full article)


Schools Welcome Future Pre-K and Kindergarten Students (Thursday, April 11, 2013)

Fort Wayne Community Schools’ elementary schools will have orientation and early (read full article)


Students Celebrate Dr. Seuss - Birthday while Preparing for ISTEP (Wednesday, March 13, 2013)

Elementary and middle school students will begin this year’s first round of ISTEP+ testing (read full article)


Grown-Ups Make Bid for Honeycomb Trophy in Annual Spelling Contest (Wednesday, March 06, 2013)

Fort Wayne Community Schools’ Study Connection is hosting its Third Annual Great Grown-Up (read full article)


Continuing Ed Graduation Celebrates Successes (Monday, March 04, 2013)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Adult and Continuing Education Department will celebrate the (read full article)


FWCS Seeks Grant to Support Magnet Programs (Tuesday, February 26, 2013)

Fort Wayne Community Schools is applying for a $12 million Magnet Schools Assistance Program (read full article)


Barry Manilow Donates New Yamaha Piano to Kick Off Musical Instrument Drive for FWCS (Friday, February 22, 2013)

Direct from Broadway, following a critically acclaimed sold out run on New York’s Great (read full article)


Holland Receives Healthy School Honor (Tuesday, February 19, 2013)

Holland Elementary School has earned the Gold Award of Distinction in the HealthierUS School (read full article)


What's Next? Find Out at the Northeast Indiana College Fair (Wednesday, February 13, 2013)

For today's students, continuing their education after high school isn’t just a (read full article)


Founder's Day Dinner Celebrates PTA Heritage (Wednesday, February 13, 2013)

The Fort Wayne Area PTA Council will host its annual Founder's Day Dinner Tuesday, Feb. 19, (read full article)


FWCS Kicks off 6th Annual Riley Project (Wednesday, February 06, 2013)

Fort Wayne Community Schools kicked off its sixth annual Kids Caring & Sharing fundraising (read full article)


FWCS Clothing Bank Moves to New Location (Tuesday, January 15, 2013)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Clothing Bank, which provides clothing to thousands of students (read full article)


FWCS Spring Driver Education Session Begins in March (Monday, January 14, 2013)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will offer Driver Education from March 4-April 30 at Anthis Career (read full article)


Zumbathon Supports Study Connection (Friday, January 11, 2013)

Fifteen area Zumba instructors will lead participants for two hours of dancing, sweating and fun (read full article)


Families Invited to Visit FWCS Buildings during Tuesday Tours (Thursday, January 10, 2013)

Families are invited to visit Fort Wayne Community Schools’ elementary, middle and high (read full article)


Student Artwork, Essays on Display this Weekend (Monday, January 07, 2013)

Artwork and essays by students throughout Fort Wayne Community Schools will be on display this (read full article)


FWCS Selects Architects & Engineers for Building Projects (Tuesday, December 11, 2012)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees hired architects and engineers for (read full article)


Annual Anthis Fruit Sale Begins Thursday (Monday, December 10, 2012)

The 23rd Annual Anthis Career Center fruit sale begins Thursday, Dec. 13, at the Anthis (read full article)


FWCS Offers Parent Meeting on Heather's Law (Friday, December 07, 2012)

Heather's Law is a new state law requiring schools to teach students about teen dating (read full article)


North Side Students Make Holidays Bright with Party for Kids Surviving Cancer (Tuesday, November 27, 2012)

Students at North Side High School will spend the week preparing for the school’s 25th (read full article)


Serving Others, Special Meals Highlight Thanksgiving Events (Monday, November 19, 2012)

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, many schools in Fort Wayne Community Schools are helping those in (read full article)


FWCS Approves New Administrators (Wednesday, November 14, 2012)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees on Monday, Nov. 12, approved the (read full article)


FWCS Celebrates Veterans Day (Friday, November 09, 2012)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will honor and celebrate Veterans Day with activities and events at (read full article)


Northrop PTSA Hosts College & Career Night (Thursday, November 08, 2012)

The Northrop High School PTSA is hosting a College & Career Night for all area middle (read full article)


FWCS Seeks Input on School Choice (Wednesday, November 07, 2012)

Fort Wayne Community Schools is reaching out to parents and community members to better (read full article)


Majority of FWCS Schools Receive High Ratings From the State (Wednesday, October 31, 2012)

Nearly 80 percent of the Fort Wayne Community Schools buildings received an A, B or C this year (read full article)


Weisser Park, Sweetwater Create State-of-the-Art Music Lab (Tuesday, October 30, 2012)

Students at Weisser Park Elementary School are working in a state-of-the-art music composition (read full article)


FWCS School Choice Fair Moves to Fall (Tuesday, October 16, 2012)

Fort Wayne Community Schools’ annual School Choice Fair moves to the fall this year, (read full article)


Guests See Life inside a School as Principal for a Day (Monday, October 08, 2012)

Fort Wayne Community Schools welcomes 50 community members into our schools to serve as guest (read full article)


Adams Elementary joins No Excuses University (Friday, September 28, 2012)

Adams Elementary School has been invited to join No Excuses University, a nationwide network of (read full article)


FWCS Budget Adjusts to State Funding Changes (Tuesday, September 25, 2012)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees reviewed the 2013 budget today, which (read full article)


FWCS Approves New Administrators (Tuesday, September 25, 2012)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees on Monday, Sept. 24, hired two new (read full article)


Brentwood Dedicates New Trail (Wednesday, September 19, 2012)

Brentwood Elementary, 3710 Stafford Drive, will dedicate its new fitness trail with a Crazy Sock (read full article)


Indiana Supreme Court Justice to Visit New Tech, Northcrest (Tuesday, September 18, 2012)

Indiana Supreme Court Justice Steven David will visit New Tech Academy at Wayne High School and (read full article)


Study Connection begins 24th Year (Tuesday, September 11, 2012)

Study Connection will kick off its 24th year of helping students with its Annual Celebration and (read full article)


FWCS Hires Program Manager for $119 Million Building Project (Tuesday, August 28, 2012)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees appointed Brailsford & Dunlavey of (read full article)


Families Welcomed Back to School (Wednesday, August 22, 2012)

Schools will be welcoming parents back to school over the next few weeks for the annual (read full article)


FWCS to Auction Off Equipment (Tuesday, August 21, 2012)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will have a loose equipment auction at 9a.m. Saturday, Aug. 25, at (read full article)


FWCS Students Return Monday (Friday, August 17, 2012)

With students returning to school on Monday, Aug. 20, Fort Wayne Community Schools officials (read full article)


FWCS Employees Pack 200 Backpacks for Students (Wednesday, August 15, 2012)

Two hundred students will start the 2012-13 school year with a backpack full of new supplies (read full article)


New Principals Appointed to Lincoln, Maplewood (Tuesday, August 14, 2012)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees on Monday, Aug. 13, approved two new (read full article)


Students Entering Elementary, Middle and High School Get a Jump on the New Year (Friday, August 10, 2012)

Fort Wayne Community Schools welcomes students entering kindergarten as well as new middle and (read full article)


Fort Wayne Community Schools - There's an App for That (Wednesday, August 01, 2012)

Information about Fort Wayne Community Schools is now available whenever and wherever parents (read full article)


Hundreds Volunteer at FWCS Buildings for United Way Day of Caring (Wednesday, August 01, 2012)

Hundreds of volunteers will clean, paint and spruce up the landscaping at 12 Fort Wayne (read full article)