FWCS News Headlines for Current Year

FWCS Headline News

Current News Headlines

Want to know what's happening in Fort Wayne Community Schools? You've come to the right spot. This is the area to find district-wide news for the current school year. Looking for news from past years? Check out our News Archive.

Archived News Headlines

News Headlines

Administrative Changes for 2018-19 Announced (Monday, March 26, 2018)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees approved several administrative (read full article)


FWCS Expands Pre-K Program (Tuesday, March 13, 2018)

Fort Wayne Community Schools is expanding its Title I pre-kindergarten program by offering (read full article)



Continuing Education Graduates Pursue Dreams (Tuesday, March 06, 2018)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Adult and Continuing Education Department will celebrate the (read full article)


Northeast Indiana College Fair Shows Students Post-Secondary Options (Monday, March 05, 2018)

Students from Fort Wayne Community Schools, East Allen County Schools and Concordia Lutheran (read full article)


FWCS Board of School Trustees Statement on Honors Courses (Friday, March 02, 2018)

After consideration of all viewpoints, FWCS has decided to continue its practice of offering (read full article)


FWCS Kicks Off Annual Riley Campaign (Tuesday, February 13, 2018)

Fort Wayne Community Schools’ students and staff are showing their support for Riley (read full article)


FWCS Study Connection to Host Zumbathon 2018 Fundraiser (Wednesday, February 07, 2018)

FWCS Study Connection is hosting Zumbathon 2018 from 1-3 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 17, at North Side (read full article)


Support for Magnet Programs Continues with Funding Change (Tuesday, January 23, 2018)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees on Monday, Jan. 22, asked the Indiana (read full article)


FWCS Lottery to be Held Friday (Wednesday, January 17, 2018)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools lottery for all grade levels will be held Friday, Jan. 19, at (read full article)


Discovery Ed to Work with 7 Schools on STEM/STEAM Initiative (Tuesday, January 09, 2018)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees approved a four-year contract with (read full article)



FWCS Website to be Down on Christmas Day (Monday, December 18, 2017)

On Christmas Day, the FWCS website will be down for technology updates. These updates are (read full article)


Fruit Sale This Week at FWCS Career Academy (Tuesday, December 05, 2017)

The 28th Annual FWCS Career Academy fruit sale at the Bill C. Anthis Center begins (read full article)


North Side Hosts Annual Kids Surviving Cancer Christmas Party (Monday, November 27, 2017)

North Side High School is preparing for the 31st annual Christmas Party for Kids (read full article)


Families Invited to See Schools During Tuesday Tours (Monday, November 13, 2017)

Families are invited to visit Fort Wayne Community Schools’ elementary, middle and high (read full article)


FWCS, Teachers Reach Two-year Agreement (Monday, November 13, 2017)

Fort Wayne Community Schools and the Fort Wayne Education Association have agreed on a two-year (read full article)


FWCS Celebrates Veterans Day (Tuesday, November 07, 2017)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will honor and celebrate Veterans Day with activities and events at (read full article)


See What We Do at FWCS During Annual Showcase Event (Friday, November 03, 2017)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will host its annual Showcase from 11 a.m.-2 p.m. Saturday, Nov. (read full article)


Author Visits Several Schools (Sunday, October 22, 2017)

Scott Savage, the author of several novels for middle-age students, including the FarWorld and (read full article)


Guests Welcomed as Principal for a Day (Tuesday, October 17, 2017)

Fort Wayne Community Schools welcomes 54 community members into our schools to serve as guest (read full article)


FWCS Seeks Community Input on Future (Tuesday, October 10, 2017)

Fort Wayne Community Schools is inviting parents and community members to participate in a (read full article)


Snider Students Selected to Present at National Conference (Wednesday, October 04, 2017)

Students and teachers from Snider High School are among an elite group selected to present to (read full article)


Principal for Study Elementary Approved (Tuesday, September 26, 2017)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees approved a principal appointment for (read full article)


Dr. Wendy Robinson is Indiana Superintendent of the Year for 2018 (Tuesday, September 26, 2017)

Dr. Wendy Robinson, superintendent of Fort Wayne Community Schools, has been named the Indiana (read full article)


FWCS Budget Increases Slightly in 2018 (Tuesday, September 26, 2017)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees was presented a budget for 2018 on (read full article)


FWCS Enrollment Up for 2017-18 School Year (Thursday, September 14, 2017)

Enrollment at Fort Wayne Community Schools is up 156 students for the 2017-18 school year as of (read full article)


Neighborhood, Parents Invited to Center for Academic Success (Monday, September 11, 2017)

The new Center for Academic Success at Nebraska will be open to Nebraska Neighborhood residents (read full article)


Study Connection Kicks Off 29th Year with Annual Breakfast (Monday, August 28, 2017)

Study Connection will celebrate its 29th year of helping students with the Annual (read full article)


FWCS Students Prepared to View Eclipse (Friday, August 18, 2017)

Students at Fort Wayne Community Schools will have the opportunity to witness the solar eclipse (read full article)


Enhanced STEM Curriculum Approved for Irwin Elementary (Thursday, August 17, 2017)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees approved a three-year contract with (read full article)


Schools Kick Off School Year with Back-to-School Nights (Thursday, August 10, 2017)

    Students are heading back to school, which means schools are hosting (read full article)


FWCS Staff Gathers to Kick-Off New School Year (Wednesday, August 09, 2017)

Fort Wayne Community Schools staff members from every school and every department will gather to (read full article)


FWCS Employees Pack 300 Backpacks for Students (Tuesday, August 08, 2017)

Fort Wayne Community Schools’ employees will pack 300 backpacks Thursday, Aug. 10, with s (read full article)


Sixth-, Ninth-Grade Students Learn the Ropes at Transition Day (Monday, August 07, 2017)

Students entering sixth and ninth grades in Fort Wayne Community Schools will get a jump on the (read full article)


FWCS Homeless Assistance Program Kicks Off School Year (Thursday, August 03, 2017)

Fort Wayne Community Schools' Homeless Assistance Program will kick off the 2017-18 school (read full article)


In-School Registration Begins Friday (Wednesday, July 26, 2017)

In-school registration for the 2017-18 school year will be held Friday, July 28, and Monday, (read full article)


Principals for Arlington, Glenwood Park Approved (Tuesday, July 25, 2017)

The Fort Wayne Community Schools Board of School Trustees approved principal appointments for (read full article)


FWCS Buses Get Annual Check-up (Monday, July 24, 2017)

Fort Wayne Community Schools’ fleet of nearly 300 buses are getting checked from top to bottom t (read full article)


Volunteers Spruce Up FWCS Buildings During Special Day of Caring (Tuesday, July 18, 2017)

Volunteers will clean, paint and spruce up the landscaping at nine Fort Wayne Community Schools (read full article)


FWCS Online Pre-registration Opens Today (Monday, June 19, 2017)

Fort Wayne Community Schools' convenient online pre-registration opens today, allowing (read full article)


FWCS Staff Visiting Neighborhoods Wednesday (Monday, June 19, 2017)

Fort Wayne Community Schools staff members will be covering the city Wednesday, June 21, (read full article)


FWCS Meal Program Offered Throughout Summer (Monday, June 05, 2017)

Fort Wayne Community Schools will again sponsor the Summer Food Service Program for Children (read full article)